Recent Posts



New York City Enters Phase 4 of Reopening + NYC Revokes Liquor Licenses From Several Eateries

On Monday, New York City officially entered phase four of reopening, the last stage in the state’s reopening process.

With phase four, city activities are open for outdoor activities only. Attractions like zoos and botanical gardens are only allowed a 33 percent occupancy standard of its normal occupancy standard.

Sports, television, and movie fans who were holding their breath wondering when they will get to enjoy their favorite pastime can breathe a sigh of relief. Professional sports are allowed to resume; however, fans are not allowed in arenas. Entertainment production such as movies, television and music production studios can also return to operation.

Although the city has entered the last phase of reopening, we are far away from the normal hustle and bustle that New Yorkers are accustomed to. Some things that were left out of the reopening process were the reopening of malls, movie theaters, museums, indoor dining (outdoor dining was permitted in Phase 2) and bars that do not serve food.

City officials have not given a timeline in references to those venues reopening and notified New Yorkers that the city is bracing itself for the highly anticipated second wave of COVID-19 cases that many states are already experiencing.

New York City and its officials have made it very clear since its official shutdown in March that business caught disobeying new health restrictions and standards will face punishments. Some businesses received slaps on the wrist with fines, however, several New York City bars and restaurants recently had their liquor licenses revoked.

The revoking of liquor licenses came almost a week after Governor Andrew Cuomo threatened to close businesses that failed to comply with the social distancing restrictions that all eateries have been subject to. Businesses will be closed if they receive three violations.

On Tuesday, Cuomo announced that the state revoked 27 liquor licenses from restaurants and bars with social distancing violations out of the 410-social distancing-related violations that have been given.

Mayor Bill De Blasio announced that popular party neighborhoods will be patrolled as well as neighborhoods where the city has received reports of social distancing violations.

New York officials have added several more states to the mandatory 14-day quarantine list bringing the total to 31. Visitors to New York State from any of the 31 states listed must undergo a mandatory two-week quarantine.

The states on the quarantine list are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.

©2019 by URBAN NEWS